Applesauce

While I was at the grocery store, I remembered that I had seen a recipe for Applesauce on Facebook one day.  My boys really like applesauce, so I thought why not try it?

I did make a couple alterations to the recipe, I used Gala apples instead of Honey Crisp since they were less than half the price.  I also added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg.

I am not a huge applesauce fan, I think it’s because of the texture.  Once the applesauce was cooked, I just did a really quick mix with my hand mixer, not enough to make it completely pureed.  I might actually eat this applesauce.  My boys also both really liked it.  And, there’s no added sugar, a bonus.

The most time consuming part of this recipe was hand peeling and slicing the apples.  If you hand an apple peeler/corer/slicer, it would probably be pretty quick.

 

Leave a comment